EBM Reviews (Ovid)
EBM Reviews helps clinicians practice EBM through a combination of resources that provide: systematic reviews of topics; article reviews; and access to definitive controlled trials.
Reviews of Topics
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - by Cochrane Collaboration The Cochrane Collaboration consists of groups of experts in over 40 clinical specialties who authoritatively review hundreds of studies on topics in their specialty; select those that meet strict EBM criteria; perform "meta-analyses" when possible on all the included studies; and then write detailed, structured reviews of the topic and the findings. These reviews allow clinicians to get fast, "bottom line" answers to their most commonly-asked questions, based on a comprehensive and expert analysis of the available medical literature. Now includes links to PDFs of the Topic Reviews!
The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE) - by the NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination
DARE provides access to selected systematic reviews on the effectiveness of clinical interventions and policies from databases such as MEDLINE and through manual review of the primary literature. DARE researchers trained in critical appraisal select only high quality reviews based on evaluation of literature searching, inclusion criteria, study assessment, and synthesis. Systematic review articles that are selected are summarized and evaluated in full text reports that describe the interventions and outcomes studied; the conclusions drawn; strengths and weaknesses of the review; and implications for practice.
HTA (Health Technology Assessments) - by Centre for Reviews and Dissemination(CRD)
HTA provides health technology assessment.Health care technology is defined as prevention and rehabilitation, vaccines, pharmaceuticals, and devices, medical and surgical procedures, and the systems within which health is protected and maintained. Technology assessment studies the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of development, diffusion, and the use of health technology and informs policy decisions. Its aim is to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of healthcare.
NHSEED（NHS Economic Evaluation Database) - by Centre for Reviews and Dissemination(CRD)
This database aims to assist decision-makers by systematically identifying and describing economic evaluations, appraising their quality and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses.
Cochrane Methodology Register(CMR) - by Cochran Group
CMR is a database of studies relevant to the methods of systematic reviews of healthcare and social interventions. The register includes journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, conference abstracts and reports of ongoing methodological research. Relevant records are identified primarily through a programme of handsearching undertaken by the UK Cochrane Centre. The register aims to include all published reports of empirical methodological studies that could be relevant for inclusion in a Cochrane methodology review, along with comparative and descriptive studies relevant to the conduct of systematic reviews of healthcare interventions.
ACP Journal Club - by the American College of Physicians
The editors of ACO Journal Club screen the top clinical journals on a regular basis and identify studies that are both methodologically sound and clinically relevant. Enhanced abstracts of the chosen articles are then written, including commentaries on the applicability of these studies to clinical practice.
Definitive Controlled Trials
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials - by the Cochrane Collaboration This bibliographic database of definitive controlled trials was created by the distinguished contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration, in collaboration with others, as part of an international effort to create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. It consists of over 350,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care, and imposes quality control standards on included references to ensure that only reports of definite randomized controlled trials or controlled clinical trials are included.
- Medicine, Life Sciences & Agriculture