• The Making of the Modern World
    Coverage: International
    Access Options: Off campusGakuNinOn campus
    Provider: Cengage Learning
    Category: Ebooks,Digital Collections

The Making of the Modern World (MOMW) is a series of approximately 87,000 European publications on social and economic history spanning 500 years from the mid-15th century to the mid-20th century. The original holdings include The Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, the Kress Library of Business and Economics at Harvard University, the Seligman Collection at Columbia University and the Hiroshima University of Economics, and the History of Economics Collection at the University of Kansas.

The collection covers the classics of economics from the political and social thought of the Renaissance to the first half of the 20th century, when the institutionalization of economics began in earnest, as well as literature on trade, agriculture, manufacturing, population, poor law, colonies, transportation, shipping, slave trade, currency, finance, and other topics in modern economic and business history. Geographically, the collection covers the entire Western world, from England, France, Italy, Austria, Germany, Sweden, and the United States to the Netherlands, Belgium, Spain, Portugal, Norway, and Denmark, as well as books published in German and English by Japanese economists in the prewar period.

Part I : The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450-1850
It includes more than 67,000 volumes spanning 500 years from 1450 to 1850 from two major social science collections, the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London and the Kress Library of Business and Economics of Harvard University.

Part II : 1851-1914
It includes more than 4,900 volumes of important materials on social and economic history published between 1851 and 1914 from the Seligman Collection at Columbia University and Hiroshima University of Economics, the History of Economics Collection at the University of Kansas Library, and the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London.

Part III : 1890-1945
It includes more than 5,500 previously unloaded volumes from the holdings of the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London. This expands the scope of the collection to 1945 and significantly increases the number of documents from the 20th century. In addition, while Part I and Part II were scanned from the microfilm editions, Part III is primarily scanned in color from the originals of materials collected by the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature after the publication of the microfilm editions.

Part IV : 1800-1890
More than 9,000 volumes in the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London that have not yet been digitized have been newly scanned in color from the originals. This completes the digitization project for the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature.

Coverage years: 
From the late 15th century to the early 20th century
Subject: 
Philosophy
History
Social Sciences
Politics & Law
Economics & Management
Sociology