This is the vast collection of documents left by Goto Shinpei (1857-1929), a bureaucrat and politician who was active from the Meiji era to the early Showa era.
Goto Shinpei played an active role in the administration of Japan's colonies, including serving as the Civil Administrator of the Taiwan Governor's Office and the first president of the Manchurian Railway Company. He also held important positions such as Minister of Communications, Minister of Internal Affairs, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mayor of Tokyo, and President of the Imperial Reconstruction Agency.

In addition to the microfilm version of the "Goto Shinpei Documents" and the DVD version of the "Collection of Letters," which have already been published and used in many studies, the online version comprehensively includes unrecorded and newly donated materials from the collection of the Goto Shinpei Memorial Museum, as well as related materials from the collection of the City Government Library.
It also includes reference information on the voluminous biographies that make full use of the "Goto Shinpei Documents" to guide readers to the original materials.

Part 1: The Mizusawa Period to the Period of the Civil Administrator in Taiwan (1)

It contains materials from his time in his hometown of Mizusawa, through his time at the Health Bureau of the Ministry of Internal Affairs, and up to his time as the Civil Administrator of the Taiwan Governor's Office.
New materials include materials related to the Japan Sanitation Association compiled by the Biograpy Compilation Society, materials from his time as the chief clerk of the Temporary Army Quarantine Department, and Taiwan-related materials, including "Opinions on the Investigation of the Old Customary System in the Management of Taiwan".

Part2: The Period of the Civil Administrator in Taiwan (2) to The Earthquake Cabinet Period

It contains materials from the period of the Civil Administrator of the Taiwan Governor's Office, which continues from Part 1, to the period of the Yamamoto Cabinet as Minister of Internal Affairs and President of the Imperial Reconstruction Agency.
Many new materials are included, such as those related to the Manchurian Railway and the Rikken Doshikai, those related to the Siberian Intervention during the Terauchi Cabinet, the Tokyo Municipal Government Research Association, and materials from the time of the Great Kanto Earthquake. In addition, the collection includes newly donated materials related to the Boy Scouts.

Part 3: The Period Out of Powers to Death-Related and Biography Compilation Society Materials

It contains materials from the period out of powers to the death of him.
It includes many new diaries, memos, and manuscripts that were not included in the microfilm. It also includes a wide variety of related materials, such as reports from Ito Miyoji to Goto regarding the Diplomatic Commission, and telegrams from the Kwantung Army to the Minister and Vice Minister of Army. In adittion, it includes materials from the Biography Compilation Society, such as "Excerpts from Goto Shinpei's Draft Letters, Opinions, etc." and "Diary of Goto Shinpei Biography Compilation Society".

Part 4: Letters

In addition to the materials included in the DVD version, this collection includes new letters and other materials from his time as president of the Manchurian Railway Company.