• The Making of the Modern World
    Coverage: International
    Access Options: Off campusGakuNinOn campus
    Provider: 国立情報学研究所
    Category: Catalogs,Article Databases,Other

This collection follows the development of the modern western world through the lens of trade and wealth -- the driving force behind many of the major events during the period (1450-1850). It can be used to support research in slavery, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender and more.
This exclusive resource combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections: the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard University Graduate School of Business Administration.

With full-text searching, The Making of the Modern World provides unparalleled access to more than 61,000 books from the period 1450-1850, and 466 pre-1906 serials -- nearly 12 million pages in all -- many the only known copy of the work in the world. It provides an invaluable complement to Eighteenth Century Collections Online , and offers a wider date range and broader international coverage -- with more than 30% of the content in non-English languages. It supports the study of history, interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, women's studies, legal and religious history and special collections on transportation, banking, finance and manufacturing.
The Making of the Modern World is a core resource for scholars and students, both for its successive editions of works by pre-eminent thinkers and for its wealth of rare primary source materials covering the experience and consequences of world trade, exploration and colonization of the New World, the Industrial Revolution and the development of modern capitalism.

Coverage years: 
1450-1850
Subject: 
History
Social Sciences
Sociology
Economics
Law and Politics